2017 HOSA, Inc. Board of Directors Announced

The HOSA-Future Health Professionals is proud to announce the 2017 HOSA, Inc. Chair, Brock Rops, who was recently elected at the annual Board of Directors Meeting held in Southlake, Texas.  Other officers elected:  Dr. Peggy Enslen, Chair-Elect (DE), and Janet Villarreal, Board Secretary (TX). 

Brock Rops, South Dakota HOSA State Advisor, was elected Chairman, HOSA, Inc. Board of Directors. Rops has been the Area Health Education Center (AHEC) Coordinator at the University of South Dakota (USD) since 2011 and the State Advisor of South Dakota HOSA since 2012. He is currently serving on the USD Health Science Advisory Board of Directors and the Sanford All About Science Festival Committee.

Dr. Peggy Enslen, Delaware HOSA State Advisor and Education Associate, was elected as the Chair-Elect, HOSA, Inc. Board of Directors. Peggy has been the First State’s HOSA Advisor since 2011. She currently serves on the National Consortium for Health Science Education (NCHSE) Board and the Association for Career and Technical Education (ACTE) Board. Prior to becoming the Delaware HOSA State Advisor, Peggy was a registered nurse in multiple health systems in Delaware.

Secretary of the HOSA, Inc. Board is Janet Villarreal, State Advisor Texas HOSA. Janet has been serving HOSA since 1994. She began as a local chapter advisor at United South and United North High Schools and, in 2006, became the State Advisor of Texas HOSA, where she continues to lead the country’s largest HOSA state association with more than 33,000 members. Previously, Janet was a registered radiologic technologist at Doctor’s Hospital in Laredo, Texas.

“HOSA is truly fortunate to have outstanding state leaders serving HOSA on the Board of Directors,” said Dr. Jim Koeninger, Executive Director of HOSA-Future Health Professionals. “HOSA has celebrated 33 years of continuous membership growth, and we are confident the organization will continue this trend of providing the pipeline with competent future health professionals with a strong Board of Directors like we have today.” 

New members of the board elected in June 2017 at the International Leadership Conference are Dana Stringer, HOSA State Advisor Region II (AL); Susan Readnower, HOSA Local Advisor Region II (KY); and Jason Huff, Alumni Director-At-Large (OH). 

Four student members of the National Executive Council serve on the board including Elizabeth Carnesi, National President (AZ); Priya Rathakrishnan, President-Elect (GA); Shawnee Chaudhury, Postsecondary/Collegiate Board Representative (NJ); and Angeli Sharma, Secondary Board Representative (NJ).

Other members of the HOSA, Inc. Board of Directors include: Lloyd DeVault, Immediate Past Chair (FL); Mae Dorado, HOSA Local Advisor Region I (HI); Charmane Freeman-Greene, HOSA Local Advisor Region III (SC); Joanne Clovis, HSE Supervisor/Teacher Educator Representative (ID); and Thomas Pryor, Health Career Industry Representative (DC).