HOSA–Future Health Professionals -- Board of Directors elect Denise Abbott Chair

HOSA–Future Health Professionals met on January 5, 2013, and elected Denise Abbott as Chair of the HOSA Inc. Board of Directors for 2013.


Denise brings her commitment and experience with HOSA having been involved for over twenty-five years.  She started her involvement as a health science student from Virginia.  Upon graduation from Northern Virginia Community College in Annandale, Virginia, as a Registered Nurse, A.A.S., Denise went to Brigham Young University to complete a B.S. in Biological Science.  She started teaching as a health science and biological sciences instructor with a HOSA chapter in Provo School District in 1987.  In 1994, Denise was selected to serve as the Utah HOSA State Advisor.    In 2012, Denise received the Outstanding Teacher in Community Service Award representing Region V from the Association of Career and Technical Education (ACTE).


“We are proud to have Denise’s motivation, experience and leadership on the HOSA Inc. Board of Directors in her new role as Chair and we are confident that she will help to continue moving the mission of HOSA forward across the nation with our members and partners”.

–Dr. Jim Koeninger, Executive Director, HOSA—Future Health Professionals


Others elected to serve on the Executive Committee of the HOSA, Inc. Board of Directors are:  Jane Shovlin (HOSA State Advisor from AZ), Chair-Elect and Allen Seigler (HOSA State Advisor from GA), Secretary.  Other members of the Executive Committee are:  Lowell Doringo (FL), Immediate Past Chair; David Kelly (OK), National HOSA President; and Antonio Hernandez (CA), President-Elect.